Friday, June 18, 2010

USA vs Slovenia

I have been wiped out this week with the worst cold of my life. The couch and bed upstairs have pretty much been my confinement. This has provided me with the opportunity to watch just about every game of the World Cup. At the risk of provoking ire from the soccer community, it's a great game to watch when you aren't feeling well. I would doze off for a nap, wake up, and chances were very good nothing had happened. Seriously, it's so difficult to score. Not sure how to change that without making it too easy to score. My second thought is that the penalty for infractions is way disproportionate to the offense. The accidental hand ball by the Serbian (?) player resulted in a penalty kick which resulted in a goal which resulted in a loss of the game. That seems ridiculous. I realize I don't know a lot about the game and that hitting the ball with your hand is a serious offense. But even if that is the most egrigious offense you can commit, having it result in an almost certain loss for your side seems a bit extreme. Last but not least I would like to see more yellow cards for diving. In particular, the serial offenders like Portuguese striker Ronaldo who goes down, according to one of the announcers, "with a puff of wind" need to be booked out of the game. With all that been said, I am on my coach, in front of my tv, watching: GO USA!!!

No comments:

Post a Comment